Meet Me In The Middle

Published 5 January, 2011 by itsaheartache

I’m learning the art of compromise.  It’s a work in progress; a series of things falling into my lap that I all of a sudden have to negotiate and “give and take”.  Damn it.  I want things my way and I want them now.  But alas, this is not my world.  I only live in it.

I have to reason with customers at work, regardless of how much I’d love to tell them their demands are unrealistic.  Sure, they are totally unrealistic, however our company can fulfill them, and that is why we have the business and not the guy down the street.  We do a good damn job, and we lead our industry… So while I may get annoyed, my job is to meet them in the middle.  OK honestly we meet more like at the end of our driveway, but hey, who’s counting?

I have to compromise with my kids… My middle son is ready to drive me completely batshit crazy with his teenage nonsense.  There are days when I’m reduced to tears, crying silently in my room so he doesn’t know how much he’s affected me with his selfishness.   All the books and articles I have read speak of teenagers’ selfishness, and how they are not capable of thinking much outside of their own circle.  Perhaps I was spoiled by my oldest son who has always been aware and caring of those around him.  He is reasonable, rational, and smart.  Yes, he does the normal “Let’s complain about everything and of course I’m right even when I’m wrong and how dare you even assume I am ever wrong”, but his heart is in the right place.  Middle boy – Gah – I don’t even know how to describe it.   We have to discuss the  same rules and expectations all the time.  It feels like we are fighting or engaging in some sort of tension at least every day, and he is not happy unless he gets everything he wants, when he wants it.  (Gee, sound familiar?)

When I call my mom for some advice, she just says “Gosh, I have no idea where he gets that from”… Thanks mom, I don’t need a trip down memory lane, I need some advice. 

Is it unreasonable for me to expect those things?  Is it wrong that I want Dean Winters on a platter for my birthday (scruffy like in the all state commercials)?  OK maybe that’s going a little far.  (Please?)

While it is a series of what feels like never ending battles, I feel like I am making progress.  I may have outgrown my selfish phase (Maybe).  I let people merge on the highway, even when they feel like they need to skid to a stop before merging (Really?).  I let people cut in front of me in the grocery line if they only have 1 or 2 things.  And yes, sometimes I let the kids have cereal for dinner.  Go ahead and report me to Child Services, it won’t be the first time.  LOL

If there is a lesson to be learned, it is that compromise is a good thing.  Even though it can be a pain in the ass, giving in doesn’t always hurt.  Besides, if you give a little bit, then you’ve got one coming.

Leave a Reply

