30 Days of Letters – Day 4: Your Sibling

Published 11 September, 2010 by itsaheartache

Dear Sis:

Our names rhyme, down to the odd spellings.  But that is all we have in common.  Physically we couldn’t be more opposite.  My naturally brown/ginger hair, blue eyes, and fair skin just don’t stand up to your striking brown (almost black) eyes, dark brown hair, and olive complexion.  I was always jealous you got boobs first.  Now, I don’t know how you deal with them.

It was tough growing up, with us being so close in age.  We could be best friends one day and the next day we were tearing each other’s hair out.  Although you are the only one who still has scars (Nails FTW), I still remember our fights like they were yesterday.

It breaks my heart that we aren’t close.  But I look at the paths our lives have taken and I’m kind of thankful we aren’t.  While you are a hard worker and are helpful to others, I don’t agree with the parent you have become.  I don’t respect most of the choices you have made.  I don’t appreciate that you moved away only to take our mother for most of the money she had (Which wasn’t much).  I wish you would clean your house once in a while…

I’m offended that you treat me like I’m outside of the circle.  I’m put off that you have picked fights with me in front of my children.  It breaks my heart when you say that I shouldn’t come visit because all I do is sit and act like I am better than everyone.

But.  You are my sister.  I know you would have my back in a bar fight; even when you’re putting a knife there.

Leave a Reply

