When The Going Gets Tough…

Published 10 January, 2009 by itsaheartache

Are you kidding me, with all the grief and shitty news lately?

I found out a couple of weeks ago that one of my best friends has to move b/c the bank took their house back.  They are moving as we speak.  I think she’s buying my furniture from me, hooray!!  If she doesn’t buy it, I’m calling the furniture place and telling them to take th crap back.  I’m tired of their shitty notes on the door.  Like them copping an attitude is going to make the money appear any faster. 

I found out Tuesday that another one of my best friends’ fiance has been laid off.  This is the same best friend who I am in the wedding for.

Yesterday, that same friend lost her job.  She worked for the same place I used to.  She took it a lot better than I did, but the circumstances behind her laying off are much different than my firing.  I’ll give it that; I just can’t believe she’s taking it in stride like she is.  She was the best thing to ever happen to that place, and they are going to regret their mistake.  Although they might not.  I can honestly say that we witnessed a business turn into a Corporation.  It was an awful thing to see and I think she and I are both better off without that place. 

Seriously, enough bad news.  I’m over it all.

I hope things get better soon.  I read a news blip claiming that Obama has estimated about 4 million new jobs with his economic plan.  We’ll see what happens when it gets right down to it.  I hope he’s everything he claims to be.  And not only that, I really hope he gets the support he needs.  It’s time to put away the Liberal vs. Conservative bullshit and fix this country.  It’s going to take a lot more than “Oh you are Democrat so you can’t possibly have anything good to contribute”.  Or “You greedy Republican asshole”.  It’s childish.  We need to get along and come together. 

Nothing much is going on; we are packing and trying to get everything set up to come to Brother’s house.  I submitted my online change of address; and received a 10% off coupon for Lowe’s.  I printed it and hung it on Brother’s fridge; the kids and I are housesitting for them while they are up north with some friends.  The Divas are running around playing dress up; two of the boys are playing the Wii and the other boy is working on a school project.

I still have an ungodly amount of things to get finished before the big move next weekend.  I have a feeling I am going to be up late every night getting things packed.  The storage unit has no electric in it so I have not been able to take any loads like I had hoped; by the time I get home from work at night it’s already dark so that leaves a big hole in my plan!!  Gross.  Just think, a week from now it will all be over.

I’m nervous and excited at the same time. It feels different this time, it feels like a good thing.  I’m thankful to have gotten to know my brother and his family so much more in these past 4+ years.  They have a tremendous support source and have always been encouraging.  I was always intimidated by them until I really got to know them, and I”m so glad that I did.  I was only intimidated b/c I felt so poorly about myself, and their happiness was strange to me.  I was afraid they would think I sucked, just like I thought about myself.  I’m so glad I know differently now.

Our room looks good; I picked out a nice paint color.  :o) 

I’m going to make it through this week, and then through the next, and the next… Until all this shit is over.

After all, someone’s got to save the world.

Leave a Reply

