Oh Nine

Published 4 January, 2009 by itsaheartache

Can you believe Christmas break went so fast?  I’ve enjoyed having the time off work and spedning time with the kids.  I’m regretting the lazy streak I’ve had today, but all in all it was a pleasant time off.

We’re moving in 12 days.  I’m scared, nervous, and excited all at the same time.  I’ve got boxes all over the place, getting things packed and deciding what can come with us to my brother’s house.  It’s a pain in the butt, and depressing so every time I start I find a reason to put it away for a little while.  Procrastination is not always a good thing.

Sorting things out is so funny though.  I’ve said “Oh so THAT’s where that went” about a dozen times.  Things I didn’t know were missing have reappeared.  My mini hanging file holder broke and assaulted me today.   Darn thing!!

I think it’s going well.  I need to write my brother a check for the carpet he is going to install in the “new room”.  I still need to go get the paint for the new room, and I think I also have to pick up a rod for the armoire that S is letting me use.

Today I got the State of MI tax book, which had a nice surprise – This year they are allowing an Earned Income Credit allowance of up to 10% of what you receive for Federal.  For you non-tax geeks.. that means if you receive 2400 bucks for Federal EIC, you can also get one for 240 bucks from the state.  This is pretty good news for anyone who needs all they can get this year.  I know I’m excited.  I just want the damn paperwork to do my return so I can get some of my bills paid off and start saving for a new life.

Blah, blah, wah wah new life this, I’m such a loser that.  Broken record that I am tired of rehashing.  How freakin cool that I get to spend time with my family and my nephews/neice.  My brother has the coolest kids; they have me laughing the whole time I’m around them.  I’m looking forward to some funny business.

And speaking of funny business… The gossip with the old company is that not only did they cancel the Christmas party, but the renegged on all the promised bonuses.  LAME.  They could have at least gotten some 20 dollar hams to pass out.  The employees got nothing.  And no heads up, either.  Some of the the employees have been there for more than 10 years and this has never happened… The executives didn’t even say “Hey, money is very tight this year and we aren’t able to do anything for Christmas but thanks for doing a hell of a job and keeping us in business”.  What a slap in the face.  I’m glad I don’t work there anymore.  I at least got a really cool gift bag of expensive make up that I’ll never use.  😉

As a source of accountability; here are my resolutions for the year.

1.  Take care of all debt by end of summer.

2.  Move out of Brother’s house by end of summer.

3.  Grad coach another session of Dale Carnegie in ’09 (I need it!!!!)

4.  Yell a lot less.

5.  Love a lot more.

6.  Beat “Shadow of Collossus”.

7.  Save up enough for a fall Vegas trip.

Life isn’t going to get any easier in the short term… In fact I expect things to be pretty hard.  No one said it would be simple.

However, the best revenge is living well.  Here’s to a new week, a new month, a new year.

Leave a Reply

