Clean House

Published 30 October, 2008 by itsaheartache

“Cleanliness is next to Godliness” ~ Some tool who doesn’t know what he’s talking about.

What better way to top off an insanely busy day at work than an insanely busy power cleaning binge.

Today at work I received over 80 emails in 9 hours.  That’s an average of about 9 per hour; each needing either a quick response or some sort of digging / fact finding.  To say it was busy is the most hilarious understatement ever.  Our department even had a special lunch celebration today, which I attended long enough to grab a chicken sub and some salt & pepper chips.  Then it was back to my desk where I plugged away on planning and spreadsheets.  I can’t tell you how much it pleases me to be busy.  It’s a good busy, I promise.

So on the way home I picked up the new cable box (Momma’s going digital, hooray); grabbed the kid, and listened to the music much too loudly.

When I got home I came to the harsh realization that a week long funk leads to a week long hiatus in house cleaning.  So I spent the better part of 3 hours picking up, scrubbing counters, cleaning sinks, gathering garbage, and scolding myself for being a slob.  I even swept a SOCK up from under the kitchen table.  The best part about the sock is it belongs to one of the Divas, who went to their dad’s Sunday.  Yes, folks, I have not swept the kitchen in near a week.  I should be ashamed to myself.

I’ll be cleaning my room tonight after the boys go to bed.  Right now I’ve thrown together a late dinner because the younger two boys had rehearsal tonight.

I’m giddy at how clean my kitchen is right now.

Maybe catching up on all the cleaning has helped to remove some of these clouds, because I could swear that I feel a good mood coming on.  Could it be?

Tomorrow is Friday, thankfully.

Tomorrow is Halloween.

Tomorrow we have celebrations all day at work and we get to leave early for a goodbye party for a colleague.

Tomorrow the boys go trick or treating, and I get to raid their candy after they go to bed.

Tomorrow is a new day.

Tomorrow there will be nothing I can change about the things I’ve done or said today.  I have to keep reminding myself this.

Tomorrow there will be only two more weeks until a day I am really dreading.  I only hope it comes and goes smoothly.  I can’t talk about it here, but it is a major source of my stress and worry of late.  I’m hurt betrayed and aghast at what I have to go through again.

Tomorrow I get to wear jeans to work.

Tomorrow is not payday, but oh well.

I love tomorrows.  Hope yours is good too.

XOXO

Leave a Reply

