Thinkin’ Problem

Published 14 September, 2008 by itsaheartache

“Yes I admit, I’ve got a thinkin’ problem” ~ David Ball

It should come as no surprise that I spend a lot of my time thinking; whether I am otherwise busy or not.

I obsess.  I worry.  I ponder.  I daydream.  I wish.  I regret.

My mind goes a million miles an hour, and I can’t seem to make it slow down.

I suppose this could be a good thing to some people, as it gives me motivation for things to write about, or for new things to edit on my resume; so on and so forth.

The tough part for me is that I really miss sleeping through the night.  I’m to the point where I am considering medication to calm down at bedtime.  But then I find myself obsessing about THAT, too.  Would I take too much?  Would I take enough?  Would I sleep too heavy and be unable to wake during an emergency?

These are the things that bug me beyond description lately.  I have a million things running through my mind at any given time of day, so let’s take a look at some of the funnier ones.

  • How the hell did a toothpick get in my bathroom drain?
  • What did the cats eat to make the litter box smell like that?
  • I’ve been on a dozen interviews – With a kick ass resume like mine, why am I not getting any calls back?  Is the former employer badmouthing?  Are they allowed to do that even though I did a really good job for them?
  • I hope the unemployment money hits my account Monday morning; I’m almost out of gas and I’m hoping that the last interview I went on will be the last one because I am supposed to hear back any day now and I need gas!!
  • I forgot to ask, during the last interview, what the company policy is regarding tattoos.
  • I have heard some gossip about the old employer that makes me grit my teeth and feel even more ashamed that I got fired from such a good job.  I’m not sure if I’d go back if they called me tomorrow but I’d love to at least go in and ask them why I was treated the way I was.
  • I need to seriously let it go.  I’m not the only awesome person who’s ever been fired.  I need to get over myself and learn that shit happens and I need to pick up my ball and find a new playground.
  • I keep putting together work outfits in my head and making sure that I have enough nice ones to alternate outfits without looking like I have no clothes.
  • I’m already wondering how I’m going to pay for Christmas.

I think that’s enough insanity for now, no?  I will update in a day or so when I hear back from the last place I interviewed at.  I’m pretty sure I nailed the interview; now it’s just a matter of finding out if they like me enough to add me to their already stellar team.  Wish me luck!!!

2 comments on “Thinkin’ Problem

  • You know, I take something at night to sleep. Hit me on my email and I will give you the scoop on what it is. 🙂 (and I wake up jusssst fine when Bug needs me, and I’m not groggy in the a.m.)

    hotdoctorwife at yahoo dot come beeeyotches.

  • Leave a Reply

